LinkedIn Insights

Knowing who’s viewed your profile is one of the best ways to measure how you are doing on LinkedIn. This following video shows you how to know who is viewing your profile. If you are interested in learning more about how to get the most out of LinkedIn, please check out our free training’s.

The following is taking from LinkedIn’s site, but many people don’t know and it’s quite hard to find:

Who Has Viewed My Profile

What is the ‘Who has viewed my profile’ module?

This is a list of the people who’ve recently viewed your profile. Many times instead of seeing exactly who viewed your profile, you’ll see anonymous profile characteristics such as industry and title. As a profile owner it is understandable that you would want to see exactly who has viewed your profile. However, as a profile viewer you may want your privacy protected. To respect your need for privacy, you can control what is shown to other LinkedIn users whose profile you have viewed by taking the following steps:

1. Click on ‘Accounts & Settings’ link found in upper right area of home page.
2. Click on ‘Profile Views’.
3. Select one of the following:

1. Show my name and headline.
2. Only show users my anonymous profile characteristics (default setting).
3. Don’t show users that I’ve viewed their profile.

Sometimes an anonymous viewer will show only as a position and company name while others display with the viewer’s job function and the industry and location they are in. This is because we may have to modify the verbiage to maintain the anonymity requested by the viewer (e.g., we don’t want to display that the viewer was a ‘Vice President at company XYZ’ if that company only has 1 or 2 Vice Presidents). Clicking on viewer names or descriptions will take you to a People Search results page showing all members that meet that specific criterion.

You may notice variations in the time frames. One day it might say ‘you have been viewed 10 times in 15 days’ and then another it switches to ‘you have been viewed 7 times in 8 days’. This is because the timeframe changes dynamically as people view your profile. The module tries to get a minimum of 5 views over any timeframe and so based on profile view activity it will change. Members may not see the module if no one has viewed their profile.

A subscription upgrade from a free account might allow you to receive a greater number of results for ‘Who’s Viewed My Profile’ (if there are additional viewers). However, you will not receive more in-depth information about the viewers if they have chosen to hide their identity in their privacy settings.
I hope you enjoyed this tip. Be sure to invite me as a connection at: